Distillerie Massenez

A Napoleonic statute…

The birth of Distillerie Massenez goes back to the 1870s when Jean-Baptiste Massenez started as “home distiller” in Urbeis, in the Vallée de Villé. Jean-Baptiste Massenez unknowingly opened the way forward for his descendants who would inherit the status of home distiller: his son, Eugene Massenez inherited not only the privilege but also his father’s expertise and went on to become a recognised master distiller himself.


At the outset, Wild Raspberry…

By 1913, Eugene Massenez had become a front runner by distilling Wild Raspberry for the first time… this brandy became a phenomenal success thanks especially to the loyalty of the Queen of Sweden who fell in love with this Raspberry on her visits to Hohwald in Alsace.

Indeed, she come to Alsace to use Eau-de-Vie for her health, and at the beginning not to drink it ! And that is how Massenez became official supplier to the court of His Majesty the King of Sweden.

Massenez and fine French gastronomy

Nevertheless, it was not until the 3rd generation in the 1950s with Gabriel Eugène Massenez that the Massenez distillery really took off. Both forerunner and visionary, Gabriel decided to think big and develop his brand for fine gastronomy, especially the famous grand brasseries of Paris: Flo, Bofinger, Pied de Cochon…

His good interpersonal skills and the quality of his products gave him access to the great Michelin-starred chefs of the period like Bocuse, Verger, Troisgros, Lameloise, Haeberlin, Blanc…and some beautiful restaurants such as La Tour d’Argent, Maxime’s, Lenotre… In short, Massenez became a fixture at great French restaurants and a must-have for gastronomy.


A rare strategy at the time : export !

Adept at running his business with a steady hand and investing in ultra-modern production tools, Gabriel Massenez also had an innate business sense. For example, Massenez was the only brandy on board the Le France, a liner symbolising French industrial strength, inaugurated by General De Gaulle himself in 1960.

America…

Thanks to his meeting with Michel Dreyfus, the leading importer of wine and champagne in USA, Gabriel managed to export his brandies and make the Dreyfus Ashby firm Massenez distillery’s number one customer. The New York-based firm distributes wine and French spirits throughout America and is still Massenez’s best customer today!

Switzerland…

A great friend of Freddy Girardet, one of the greatest names in world gastronomy, Gabriel Massenez had no difficulty in placing his eaux-de-vie with Swiss restaurant owners, and especially Wild Raspberry which was unknown there.

Germany, Austria…

The adventure continued in Germany with another great chef close to Gabriel known as the “Chef of the Century”, the same title as Bocuse: Eckart Witzigmann. Despite strong German presence on the eau-de-vie market, the Massenez name became the leading brand because of its incomparable quality and its very fine, delicate eaux-de-vie. Likewise, top Austrian restaurants followed this movement, influenced by the fashion for French gastronomy.

Asia… Hong-Kong, Singapore and then Tokyo !

On the strength of this international success, Gabriel Massenez decided to tackle the Asian market with two flagship products: the Wild Raspberry Eau-de-Vie and the famous Prisoner Pear.
It was a major undertaking because at the time raspberries were totally unknown in Asia. The appeal of the Prisoner Pear lies the delightful expertise of putting the pear in the bottle while it is still on the tree and the quality of the eau-de-vie. At that time French gastronomy had not crossed these borders. Only bakers began to show an interest in the eaux-de-vie as they saw the potential for developing an upmarket segment. Massenez then spread to Tahiti and the Fiji islands…


A new generation…
and a new distillery !

In 1979 in response to strong growth, Gabriel decided to create a new distillery in Val de Villé. It was inaugurated by Paul Bocuse, a great, loyal friend of the Massenez family and in the presence of many other great chefs from all over the world. Then the fourth generation started at the distillery: since 1982, Manou Massenez, Gabriel’s daughter has continued her father’s work in export, developing growth of the family brand in over 110 countries! Her woman’s perspective and her business sense have enabled her to take Massenez to many world competitions that were previously reserved for Cognacs and to present Massenez Eaux de vie, Creams & Liqueurs to the world’s greatest sommeliers and barmen.

Manou’s involvement has also helped to develop Massenez’s brand image in the world of top class gastronomy with great French chefs such as Robuchon, Ducasse, Savoy…and also catering schools, barmen, private individuals…
In 1989, Manou’s brother, Dominique Massenez decided to diversify the family business by investing in vineyards in Chile.

Massenez on board planes!

The Massenez image began to feature strongly in Duty Free shops thanks to Gabriel Massenez’s investment in the first Duty Free trade fairs in the 1980s. Massenez then became one of the brands on board airlines like Air France, Lufthansa, SwissAir, British Airways, Sabena, Cathay Pacific, Singapour Airline…

Massenez, sparkle and glitter !

Official partner of the Cannes Film Festival with Raspberry and Williams Pear, Massenez was also served at the Élysée palace when Giscard and Chirac were presidents!
Massenez eaux de vie, creams and liqueurs have also conquered the palates of various stars who have visited the distillery: Fernandel, Bourvil, Alain Delon, Maurice Chevalier, Jerry Lewis, Barbara Cartland, Claude François…


And today ?

Associated since 2010 with Grandes Distilleries Peureux, Mr. Bernard Baud directs the distillery in Alsace with Manou Massenez and Elodie Naslin. Concerned to ensure the quality of their products and aware of the difficulties for the industry on the spirits market, this dream team continues to develop Massenez for export and in France though a feminine image, due to the historical importance of the Raspberry eau de vie and the emergence of a new profile of consumers through cocktails: women!

So Maison Massenez continues with this avant-garde line and through its new timeless muse, MISS MASSENEZ, advocates a completely new consumption of eaux de vie, creams and liqueurs: cocktails! Inseparable from the French lifestyle! Refined, Chic, Elegant… The exclusively masculine image of the after-dinner liqueur is finished, follow Miss Massenez and travel with her through her favourite cocktails…

Distillerie Massenez

Depuis 1870…

L’histoire de la Distillerie Massenez remonte à 1870 alors que Jean-Baptiste Massenez exerce dans le Val de Villé à Urbeis la profession de bouilleur de cru… Jean-Baptiste Massenez ouvre alors sans le savoir, une voie royale à sa descendance qui héritera de ce savoir-faire : son fils Eugène Massenez deviendra un Maître distillateur reconnu dans le métier.


A l’origine, la Framboise Sauvage…

Dès 1913, Eugène Massenez se voudra avant-gardiste en distillant pour la 1ère fois de la Framboise Sauvage… Cette Eau-de-Vie deviendra un succès phénoménal grâce notamment à la fidélité de la Reine de Suède devenue amoureuse de cette Framboise lors de ses venues en Alsace.

Cette dernière faisait en effet régulièrement des cures au Hohwald afin de soigner ses poumons… grâce aux Eaux-de-Vie ! C’est ainsi que Massenez devint fournisseur officiel de la cour de sa Majesté le Roi de Suède.

Massenez et la haute gastronomie française

Néanmoins, ce n’est qu’à partir de la 3ème génération dans les années 50, avec Gabriel Eugène Massenez, que la distillerie Massenez connaitra un véritable essor. À la fois précurseur et visionnaire, Gabriel décide de voir les choses en grand et de développer sa marque dans la haute gastronomie, notamment dans les Grandes Brasseries Parisiennes de renom : Flo, Bofinger, Pied de Cochon…

Puis son relationnel et la qualité de ses produits lui donnent accès aux grands chefs étoilés de l’époque tels que Bocuse, Verger, Troisgros, Lameloise, Haeberlin, Blanc… et quelques belles tables comme La Tour d’Argent, Maxime’s, Lenotre… Bref, Massenez s’impose sur les plus grandes tables françaises et devient l’incontournable de la gastronomie !


Une stratégie rare à l’époque : l’export !

A la fois doué pour tenir sa maison d’une main de maître et investir dans des outils de production ultra-modernes, Gabriel Massenez avait aussi un sens inné des affaires ! Massenez sera par exemple la seule marque d’Eau-de-Vie à bord du paquebot Le France, véritable symbole de la force industrielle française et inauguré en personne par le Général de Gaulle en 1960.

L’Amérique…

Grâce à sa rencontre avec Michel Dreyfus, le 1er importateur de Vins et Champagne des USA, Gabriel parviendra à exporter ses Eaux-de-Vie et à faire de la Maison Dreyfus Ashby le 1er client de la distillerie Massenez. Cette maison, implantée à New-York distribue des Vins et Spiritueux français sur tout le territoire américain et est aujourd’hui encore le meilleur client de Massenez !

La Suisse…

Grand ami de Freddy Girardet, l’un des plus grands noms de la gastronomie mondiale, Gabriel Massenez impose sans difficultés ses Eaux-de-Vie auprès des restaurateurs Suisses, notamment la Framboise Sauvage encore méconnue sur ce territoire.

L’Allemagne, l’Autriche…

L’aventure continue en Allemagne, avec un autre grand chef proche de Gabriel et reconnu comme « Cuisinier du siècle » au même titre que Bocuse : Eckart Witzigmann. Malgré la forte présence allemande sur le marché des Eaux-de-Vie, le nom Massenez s’impose par sa qualité incomparable et se différencie par ses Eaux de Vies si fines et si délicates. De même, les grandes tables autrichiennes suivent ce mouvement influencées par la grande mode de la gastronomie française.

L’Asie… Hong-Kong, Singapour puis Tokyo !

Fort de ce succès à l’international, Gabriel Massenez décide de s’attaquer au marché asiatique avec deux produits phares : l’Eau-de-Vie de Framboise Sauvage et la célèbre Poire Prisonnière ! Une véritable prouesse pour l’époque car la Framboise est un fruit totalement méconnu des asiatiques. Quant à la Poire Prisonnière, c’est l’émerveillement du savoir-faire de la mise en bouteille de la Poire encore sur l’arbre et la qualité de son Eau-de-Vie. Par ailleurs la gastronomie française n’a pas encore franchi ces frontières. Seule la pâtisserie commence à s’intéresser aux Eaux-de-Vie et à y voir un potentiel de développement pour le segment haut-de-gamme. Massenez s’étend ensuite à Tahiti, sur les Iles Fidji…


Une nouvelle génération…
Et une nouvelle distillerie !

En 1979, afin de répondre à une forte croissance, Gabriel décide de créer une nouvelle distillerie dans le Val de Villé. Cette dernière sera inaugurée par Paul Bocuse, grand ami et fidèle de la famille Massenez, et en présence de nombreux autres grands chefs du monde entier. Puis la 4ème génération fait son entrée au sein de la distillerie : dès 1982, Manou Massenez, la fille de Gabriel continuera le travail de son Père à l’export et développera ainsi la croissance de la marque familiale dans plus de 110 pays ! Son œil féminin et son sens du commerce lui ont permis d’amener Massenez dans de nombreux concours mondiaux autrefois réservés aux Cognacs et de présenter les Eaux-de-Vie, Crèmes & Liqueurs Massenez aux plus grands sommeliers et barmen du monde entier. L’investissement de Manou a aussi permis de développer l’image de marque de Massenez tant dans l’univers de la haute gastronomie avec les grands chefs français comme Robuchon, Ducasse, Savoy… qu’auprès des écoles hôtelières, barmen, particuliers…

Quant au frère de Manou, Dominique Massenez, il décidera dès 1989 de diversifier l’activité familiale en investissant dans des terres viticoles au Chili.

Massenez servie à bord des avions !

L’image Massenez sera ensuite très présente dans les Duty Free grâce à l’investissement de Gabriel Massenez dans les 1ers salons professionnels des DutyFree, dans les années 80. Massenez devient alors une référence à bord des compagnies aériennes telles que Air France, Lufthansa, SwissAir, British Airways, Sabena, Cathay Pacific, Singapour Airline…

Massenez, strass et paillettes !

Partenaire officiel du festival de Cannes avec la Framboise et la Poire Williams, Massenez sera aussi servie pendant des années à l’Elysées sous Giscard et Chirac !
Ses Eaux-de-Vie, Crèmes et Liqueurs auront aussi conquis les palais de quelques célébrités qui se sont rendus à la distillerie : Fernandel, Bourvil, Alain Delon, Maurice Chevalier, Jerry Lewis, Barbara Cartland, Claude François…


Et aujourd’hui ?

Associée depuis 2010 aux Grandes Distilleries Peureux, c’est Mr Bernard Baud qui dirige avec Manou Massenez et Elodie Naslin la distillerie en Alsace. Soucieux de la qualité de leurs produits et conscients des difficultés de ce secteur sur le marché des spiritueux, ce trinôme de choc continue le développement de Massenez tant à l’export qu’en France à travers une image féminine, due à l’importance historique de la Framboise et à l’émergence d’un nouveau profil de consommateurs à travers les cocktails : les femmes !

La Maison Massenez continue donc sur cette lignée avant-gardiste et prône par l’intermédiaire de sa nouvelle égérie intemporelle, MISS MASSENEZ, une toute nouvelle consommation des Eaux-de-Vie, Crèmes & Liqueurs : les cocktails ! Indissociables d’un style de vie à la Française ! Raffiné, chic, élégant… Finie l’image exclusivement masculine du digestif, suivez Miss Massenez et voyagez avec elle à travers ses cocktails favoris…